UNITED NATIONS – The UN Trusteeship Council has elected Jonathan Guy Allen, deputy permanent representative of Britain to the United Nations, as its president at the opening its 72nd session.

Deputy Permanent Representative of the United Kingdom, Jonathan Guy Allen speaks during a news conference at the UN Security Council visit to Colombia, in Bogota, Colombia July 12, 2019.

Anne Gueguen, deputy permanent representative of France to UN was elected as the council’s vice president.

Both were elected by acclamation after being nominated on the basis of consultations among council members Friday. The council also adopted its provisional agenda by acclamation at the brief organizational meeting.

The Trusteeship Council is a principal organ of the United Nations, created to administer 11 Trust Territories placed under the Organization’s care at its founding in 1945. The organ suspended operations when the last United Nations Trust Territory, Palau, attained independence in 1994.

Membership of the council now comprises the five permanent members of the Security Council – Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States. The organ’s future role is under consideration as part of the broader reform of the United Nations and the Security Council.

The Trusteeship Council will meet again in November 2021 at a date and time to be determined at least 30 days in advance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *